A church on the present site is likely to have been built in the eighth century, although the only material evidence for this early building is three ancient stone blocks , now built into the exterior of the modern north wall. They were taken from a doorway in the old north wall when it was removed to add the north aisle in 1885.
The earliest written record of the church is in the Domesday survey of 1086, and the earliest structural work now remaining is the thirteenth century stonework in the south and east walls of the nave.
Sadly, the restorations of 1885 has destroyed or overlaid much that would be of interest, however the church is still a fascinating and beautiful building.
The bell tower, contains a single bell which was cast about 1395, and is inscribed to St Martin of Tours thus: "Hic Est Martinus Quem Salvet Trimus et Unus" ~ This is Martin, ,may the trinity save him.
It is fascinating to think that his bell has been heard by the villagers of Ninfield since before the time of the Battle of Agincourt, 1415.
Here is the inside, looking towards the chancel and east window. The chancel arch was built in the 1885 restoration, replacing the original Norman arch which "consisted of a central opening no larger than a good-sized doorway, with two small recesses or openings one on each side, and in front of these smaller arches there stood in Norman times side altars", (Mr. George Gilbert Scott writing in 1874).
Here is the organ which according to the guidebook is of exceptional quality for a village church and was built by Henry Jones and rebuilt in 1987 by John Males
At the west end of the church are the remains of the minstrel's gallery. This was constructed in the seventeenth century , but was closed and boarded up in the 1885 restoration. It was reopened in 1923, and can be seen in the photo below. Church records tell that the music was led by a flautist and later a harmonium from the gallery. Today there is no direct access.
This final view is from the north, looking from the graveyard. The three ancient stones mentioned above can just be seen between the most westerly of the three windows.
Visitors to this album since June 2003
If you would like to purchase any of the images featured here or commission others of this church, please click here.
If you found this page using a search engine or other link, please use the icons below to link to one of the main sections of the Roughwood web site:
Please do not reproduce or store any of the pictures on this site without asking first.